[30 days to 30: 1993]

[30 days to 30: 1993]

Mesquite, TX

A note from my Momma today. I am her. If I’m not her already, I am turning into my mother :) She is a genuine hostess. I’ve been asked by several people if she’s a teacher. She is not, but could definitely be if she wanted. My mother is creative, inspired by small things that she highlights to make center pieces. She is a photographer, but more than that – she knows how to capture moments through more than just pictures. My momma is thoughtful and kind, considerate and fiercely loyal. She loves her family and her friends that she has chosen. I love when she gets tickled by something funny she’s heard, seen or even said. Her expression makes me laugh just thinking about those times. She tried to teach me many things in the kitchen, God bless her, and yet she’ll be the first one to tell the story of me hunting down cupcake mix – but out of love, and that funny expression when she’s delighted about something. She’s my biggest cheerleader and is quite internet savvy when it comes to finding out new information about life :)

The woman knows how to pack a box, move a house, mow the lawn and chainsaw with the best of them. Watch out world, she’s coming. When she is determined, few things can derail her [see broken pelvis] [see also hip replacement].

I love that I am becoming her. I respect and love her so much. In college I got a cell phone [first in our family… they later decided it was a good, new thing these cell phones], and I loved calling her between my classes for a quick chat or a ‘hey, how’s it going’ moment. I do miss that about the 12-13 hour time difference; but we still manage to get some chats in here and there when she’s up to all hours. That’s another thing I have inherited: we’re night owls. My poor father is the only one in the bunch that can wake pre-9am without much grumbling and several snooze buttons.

As for 1993 – I have select memories. One of the pictures below is from a road trip. Our family rocked road trips. We had an awesome van with pull out seats. On our way to Ohio or back, we’d pull the back one and make a “nest” from our bags, blankets and such. Brother and I would take turns – or both pile in – being in the back. Mom and Dad would take turns driving or sleeping. That’s how I got such awesome map skills – “navigating” for the trips. Dad would patiently talk me through where we were and where we were headed. Mom and Kentucky never seemed to get along – something about it always raining when she drove there :)

IMG_0760 IMG_0762 IMG_0763

Leave a comment